课程

迪凯特青少年服务计划:
报名表

DYS提供的课程可以促进各个领域的青少年发展。 程序旨在 培养品格和领导能力, 提供 教育支持,并协助青少年寻找 就业机会。 DYS还提供 体育节目 特别的 暑期计划 为迪凯特青年。 我们还提供一个 父母的计划 帮助加强家庭单位。

品格发展与领导力发展

对于男孩

男孩-2-男子指导计划

Boys-2-Men是一个旨在帮助男孩成为健康,负责任,积极主动,知情和高尚品格的男性的计划。 通过这个项目,男孩成为情感上能干的,完全负责任的男人,他们是家庭,社区和跟随他们的年轻一代的资产。

对于男孩,年龄11-18

合作者: Kerri Minor先生
电话:256-560-1600

对于女孩

Girls-2-女性指导计划

Girls-2-Women与社区中学和高中女生合作,解决婚前低自尊,学业进步不足和性关系问题。 生活技能培训,个人修饰,文化丰富的旅行/活动以及行为改善是使用的一些途径。 Girls-2-Women是一个积极的支持系统,为女孩做出明智决定和积极选择提供必要的工具。

女孩,等级6-12

合作者: 安妮玛丽波特女士
电话:(256)227,1238

女孩为某一事业而联系(GC4C)

为一个事业而联系的女孩(GC4C)旨在通过完成解决女孩在社区面临的问题的项目,使女孩能够创造社会变革。 该计划使年轻女孩有机会成为明天的公民领袖和社区管家。

女孩,等级6-12

合作者: Kurtistyne White女士
电话:256-445-0633

教育

课后计划

课后计划鼓励学术卓越,并通过将战略重点放在关注的主题领域,为家庭作业提供有效的帮助。 总体使命是增强每个学生的个人学习体验。 除了家庭作业协助,该计划还提供ACT准备。

对于所有学生,成绩为6-12

合作者: 梅琳达韦德女士
电话:256-341-7044

DYS指导

DYS Mentoring旨在提供合格的,训练有素的导师,帮助他们培养孩子,并鼓励他们成为积极的年轻人。 参与者的好处包括:提高高中毕业率,改善对学校的态度,提高大学入学率,以及更广泛的教育愿望。

为所有Stu凹痕,等级6-12

合作者: 安妮玛丽波特女士
电话:(256)227,1238

DYS打击乐

迪凯特青少年服务中心的打击乐团可让中学生和高中生学习和练习打击乐技巧。 级别从初学者到高级。 会员还可以在整个迪凯特地区进行表演。

对于所有学生,成绩为6-12

合作者: Kurtistyne White女士
电话:(256)445,0633

GED /劳动力发展

Decatur Youth Services与Calhoun Adult Education合作提供免费的GED课程。 它是开放式注册,因此成人可以随时注册。 劳动力发展旨在建立一支高技能工人的管道,以满足商业需求,并最大限度地提高我们青年的技能水平和信心。

合作者: 迈克斯托瓦尔先生
电话:(256)341,4820

工作经历

青年就业计划

暑期青年就业计划旨在帮助青少年全年找到工作,并在6月至8月期间举办一个特殊的暑期计划。 夏季青年就业申请可在2月份获得。

适用于所有学生,年龄为14-15

合作者: 塔蒂亚娜卢卡斯女士
电话:(256)654,1179

运动

拳击和柔道

迪凯特及北阿拉巴马州周边地区的儿童运动机会十分丰富。 每当有人听说运动机会时,许多人都会想到足球,棒球和足球。 迪凯特青少年服务部远远超出了孩子们参加拳击和柔道课程的熟悉运动。 703 Wilson Street NW的设施和健身房一直是该集团实践的中心。

合作者: 艾丝黛拉戴维斯女士

DYS / PALS篮球

由迪凯特青年服务,公园和娱乐以及警察局赞助,PALS篮球计划允许参与者注册为个人或团队。 申请可在Decatur Youth Service或Carrie Matthews Recreation Centre领取。

合作者: Rico Pickett先生

DYS独特的B&G舞蹈团

Decatur Youth Services提供每周免费舞蹈课程。 课程为我们的年轻人提供了一个结识新朋友,结交新朋友,增强自信心的机会。

适用于所有学生,年龄5及以上

合作者: 安妮玛丽波特女士
电话:(256)227,1238

钢琴/键盘课程

钢琴/键盘课程帮助学生了解弹奏键盘所需的快乐和纪律。 Reginald Jackson博士每周四从4教授课程:00 pm到5:00 pm

对于所有学生,成绩为3-12

合作者: 乔斯林科文顿女士
电话:(256)341,4690

旋转/警棍类

旋转/接力棒计划促进身体健康,并有助于对抗儿童肥胖症。 它结合了舞蹈和体操,同时操纵警棍或旗帜。 旋转运动需要优雅,协调,专注和力量,但也很有趣和放松。

对于所有学生,成绩为3-12

合作者: 乔斯林科文顿女士
电话:(256)341,4690

今年暑假

Camp Safe Haven

Camp Safe Haven是一个令人兴奋的夏令营,在六月和七月期间,设计充满乐趣,教育和安全。 每周最低费用为$ 20。 营地每天供应免费午餐。 成人辅导员将在Carrie Matthews娱乐中心的初级辅导员的协助下监督课程。 注册从4月开始,每周必须提前支付。

合作者: 梅琳达韦德女士
电话:256-341-7044

DYS Girls STEAM夏季课程

DYS Girls STEAM计划是一种教育性的学习方法,它使用科学,技术,工程,艺术和数学作为指导学生探究,对话和批判性思维的接入点。 最终结果是学生承担深思熟虑的风险,参与体验式学习,坚持解决问题,接受协作,并通过创作过程。

这是一个仅限女孩,周一至周四为期六周的训练营,从六月的第一个星期一开始.

女孩,年龄10-14

合作者: Kurtistyne White女士
电话:(256)445,0633

家长

家庭事务

家庭事务是一个家庭强化咨询计划,侧重于生活技能培训,因为它涉及整体个人心理健康状况和家庭动态。 该计划以团体环境进行。

合作者: Marcie&Brandon Watkins

免费膳食计划

该计划确保儿童年龄在18以及每天健康膳食。 整个迪凯特市的多个地点都提供餐点。

为人父母的倡议计划

“父母身份倡议计划”旨在帮助非监护父母在子女抚养费,工作安置,改善家庭关系,目标设定,成人职业和GED课程等领域进行发展。 有大量研究表明青少年犯罪与两个参与父母的缺席之间存在相关性。 该计划的重点是让缺席的父母参与其子女的生活。

合作者: 多米尼克马洛里先生
电话:256-345-7922

机会之城

Programs

Decatur Youth Services Programs:
Registration Form

DYS offers programs that enhance youth development in a variety of areas. Programs are designed to develop character and leadership skills, to provide educational support, and to assist teens in finding employment opportunities. DYS also offers sports programs and special summer programs for Decatur youth. We also offer a program for parents to help strengthen the family unit.

Character Development & Leadership Development

For Boys

Boys-2-Men Mentoring Program

Boys-2-Men is a program designed to help boys become healthy, responsible, motivated, informed, and noble men of character. With this program, boys become emotionally competent, fully responsible men who are assets to their families, communities, and the younger generations who follow them.

For Boys, Ages 11-18 

Coordinator: Mr. Kerri Minor
Phone: 256-560-1600

For Girls

Girls-2-Women Mentoring Program

Girls-2-Women works with middle and high school girls in the community to address low self-esteem, deficiency in academic progression, and sexual relationships prior to marriage. Life skills training, personal grooming, culturally enriching trips / activities, and behavior improvements are some of the avenues used. Girls-2-Women is a positive support system and provides the necessary tools for girls to make informed decisions and positive choices.

For Girls, Grades 6-12

Coordinator: Ms. Anne Marie Porter
Phone: (256) 227-1238

Girls Connected for a Cause (GC4C)

Girls Connected for a Cause (GC4C) was designed to empower girls to create social change by completing projects that tackle issues girls face in their communities. This program gives the young girls the opportunity to become civic leaders and community stewards of tomorrow.

For Girls, Grades 6-12

Coordinator: Ms. Kurtistyne White
Phone: 256-445-0633

Education

After School Program

The After School Program encourages academic excellence and provides effective assistance with homework by placing a strategic focus on the subject areas of concern. The overall mission is to enhance each student’s individual learning experience. In addition to homework assistance, the program also provides ACT prep.

For All Students, Grades 6-12

Coordinator: Ms. Melinda Wade
Phone: 256-341-7044

DYS Mentoring

DYS Mentoring is designed to provide qualified, trained mentors to help develop our children and encourage them to become positive young people. Benefits for participants include: increased high school graduation rates, better attitudes about school, increased college enrollment rates, and more expansive educational aspirations.

For All Students, Grades 6-12

Coordinator: Ms. Anne Marie Porter
Phone: (256) 227-1238

DYS Percussion

The Decatur Youth Services’s percussion ensemble allows middle and high school students to learn and practice percussion skills. Levels range from beginner to advanced. Members are also provided with opportunities to perform throughout the Decatur area.

For All Students, Grades 6-12

Coordinator: Ms. Kurtistyne White
Phone: (256) 445-0633

GED/Workforce Development

Decatur Youth Services partners with Calhoun Adult Education to offer FREE GED classes. It is open-enrollment, so that adults can enroll at any time. The Workforce Development was designed to build a pipeline of higher skilled workers to meet business demand and maximize the skills levels and confidence of our youth.

Coordinator: Mr. Mike Stovall
Phone: (256) 341-4820

Employment

Youth Employment Program

The Summer Youth Employment Program is designed to assist teens in finding employment year-round, with a special summer program that spans the months June through August. Summer youth employment applications are available in the month of February.

For All Students, Ages 14-15 

Coordinator: Ms. Tatiana Lucas 
Phone: (256) 654-1179

Sports

Boxing & Judo

Sporting opportunities for children are abundant in Decatur and the surrounding areas of North Alabama. Whenever individuals hear about sporting opportunities, many think of football, baseball, and soccer. The Decatur Youth Services Department goes well beyond the familiar sports that children play with boxing and judo classes. A facility and gym at 703 Wilson Street NW has been the center of the group’s practices.

Coordinator: Ms. Estella Davis

DYS / PALS Basketball

Sponsored by Decatur Youth Services, Parks & Recreation, and Police Department, the PALS Basketball program allows participants to register as individuals or as a team. Applications can be picked up at Decatur Youth Service or Carrie Matthews Recreation Center.  

Coordinator: Mr. Rico Pickett

DYS Unique B & G Dance Group

Decatur Youth Services offers a free weekly dance class. The class offers an opportunity for our youth to meet new people, make new friends, and boost self-confidence.

For All Students, Ages 5 and Up 

Coordinator: Ms. Anne Marie Porter
Phone: (256) 227-1238

Piano / Keyboarding Classes

Piano/keyboarding classes help the students learn about the joy and discipline needed in order to play the keyboard. Classes are taught by Dr. Reginald Jackson every Thursday from 4:00 p.m. to 5:00 p.m.

For All Students, Grades 3-12

Coordinator: Ms. Jocelyn Covington
Phone: (256) 341-4690

Twirling / Baton Classes

The twirling/baton program promotes physical fitness and helps fight childhood obesity. It combines dance and gymnastics while manipulating batons or flags. Twirling is a sport that requires grace, coordination, concentration, and strength but is also fun and relaxing.

For All Students, Grades 3-12

Coordinator: Ms. Jocelyn Covington
Phone: (256) 341-4690

Summer

Camp Safe Haven

Camp Safe Haven is an exciting summer camp during the months of June and July that is designed with fun, education, and safety in mind. There is a minimum cost of $20 per week to participate. Free lunch is served daily during the camp. Classes will be supervised by adult counselors, with the assistance of junior counselors, at the Carrie Matthews Recreation Center. Registration begins in April, and each week must be paid in advance.

Coordinator: Ms. Melinda Wade
Phone: 256-341-7044

DYS Girls STEAM Summer Program

DYS Girls STEAM program is an educational approach to learning that uses Science, Technology, Engineering, the Arts, and Mathematics, as access points for guiding student inquiry, dialogue, and critical thinking. The end results are students who take thoughtful risks, engage in experiential learning, persist in problem-solving, embrace collaboration, and work through the creative process.

It is a girl’s-only, Monday through Thursday six-week camp that begins the first Monday in June.

For Girls, Ages 10-14

Coordinator: Ms. Kurtistyne White
Phone: (256) 445-0633

Parents

Family Matters

Family Matters is a family-strengthening counseling program that focuses on life skills training as it relates to the overall individual mental health status and family dynamic. The program is held in a group setting.

Coordinator: Marcie & Brandon Watkins

FREE Meal Program

This program ensures that children age 18 and under get a healthy meal every day. Meals are provided throughout the City of Decatur at multiple sites.

Parenthood Initiative Program

The Parenthood Initiative Program is designed to assist non-custodial parents in making developments within the fields of child support payments, job placements, improved family relationships, goal setting, adult vocation, and GED classes. There is an abundance of research that shows a correlation between juvenile delinquency and the absence of both participating parents. This program is focused on bringing absentee parents into the lives of their children.

Coordinator: Mr. Dominique Mallory
Phone: 256-345-7922

THE CITY OF OPPORTUNITY