固体废物常见问题

问:我的住所应该有多少辆和哪种车?

A: 当我们的自动化系统在几年前投入使用时,居民最初会获得一个用于生活垃圾的灰色推车,如果需要,可以单独收集一个用于庭院垃圾的绿色推车。 由于Decatur不再在收集点分离绿色垃圾和生活垃圾,居民可以将所有垃圾混合在城市提供的灰色或绿色推车中,无论购物车标签如何。 我们鼓励您继续将您的推车用于小型堆场碎片,而不是将其堆放在装载机卡车服务中,因为这样可以加快收集速度。 如果每个家庭需要超过2推车,只要固体废物处有足够的库存,就会以额外的每月费用提供额外的推车。 如果您的购物车数量多于您需要的数量,请拨打额外的购物车。 (注意:回收部门的推出式推车为棕色,仅在街道提供服务。)

有关城市指定固体垃圾车的其他信息:

  • 记录每个购物车的序列号以备将来参考。 如果有人失踪,你可以毫不费力地找到它。
  • 请遵守法律并将生活垃圾包装好。 车内的袋装垃圾意味着清洁车和周围环境,减少垃圾的可能性。
  • 如果您经常有多余的垃圾,请拨打额外的购物车。
  • 保持推车盖关闭,没有突出的物品。
  • 当您将推车送去维修时,请将车远离建筑物,围栏,邮箱,电线杆等。
  • 切勿过度包装您的推车。
  • 切勿坐,爬或站在推车上。
  • 切勿将油漆,溶剂,易燃物或其他类型的液体,灰烬,死亡动物,油或医疗废物放入推车中。
  • 切勿用推车填充木材,泥土,混凝土或岩石等建筑材料。

问:我的垃圾什么时候收集?

A: 6:00 AM在您的收集日推出您的推车,方向箭头指向街道或小巷。 如果你有街道收藏,如果没有路边,可以在路边或肩膀上设置推车......不要在排水沟或街道上。 通过7将它们卷回到您家附近的安全位置:00 PM您负责保管和清洁您指定的购物车。

垃圾收集日:

问:大件物品(四肢,灌木和刷子对于推车来说太大)和其他大件物品,如家用电器和家具怎么样?

A. 分配给您附近的装载机卡车将在您的购物车维修的同一位置拾取此类垃圾。 (但是,有一些区域的垃圾收集在街上,但垃圾收集在巷子里。如果你不确定,请致电街道和环境服务办公室。)

沟通是接受专业和及时服务的关键。 如果您有任何疑问,请致电我们的办公室256-341-4740,以便我们帮助您确定可以收集的内容。

  • 装载机卡车不为您所在的街道和小巷提供服务。
  • 由于风暴碎片可能会发生定期延误,而在整个城市产生大量碎片的其他时间也可能发生。
  • 整齐地放置大件物品,远离围栏,邮箱,建筑物,电线杆等。如果您没有小巷拾取,物品应整齐地放在路缘后面。 不要用你的物品挡住小巷。

以下项目可供收集,但列表不包括在内:

  • 房主维修的小柜子,厕所,地毯和其他物品。
  • 四肢切割长度小于12英尺,直径小于12英寸。
  • 各类家电和家具。
  • 小修理的围栏板(想想一到三个面板)。 e:不会收集承包商的过度围栏。 如果您有疑问或者您不确定,请致电256-341-4740。
  • 小修理带来的小堆带状疱疹。 同样,不会收集承包商的带状疱疹。
  • 放在路缘后面的叶子。 当我们使用真空机器进行收集时(大约10月至1月),在“叶季”期间,不要将四肢和其他碎片放在路边的树桩上。 套袋叶子是可以接受的,并将加快清除过程。
  • 小(认为手推车满)成堆的砖,岩石和房主的其他物品。

问:建筑维修,改造和拆除的碎片怎么办?

A: 当您为建筑物维修或改造制定计划时,请记住计划清除碎片。 请参阅上面有关房主产生的碎片的部分。 我们不会收拾承包商的碎片。

迪凯特/摩根县区域垃圾填埋处理率和运营时间

问:承包商的碎片怎么样 - 树木,栅栏,带状疱疹,园林绿化等?

A: 城市法令要求所有承包商将工作场所的碎片拖走。 承包商和房主之间不应该根据城市将其删除的假设进行谈判。 固体废物处不会把它拖走。

参考: 固体废物条例第19-9条, 迪凯特市,市政法典

问:我需要支付多少住宅垃圾和垃圾收集费?

A: 垃圾费按每月的Decatur Utility账单计费,具体如下:

住宅垃圾率
有效的10 / 1 / 18
住宅$ 17.25 *
住宅额外购物车$7.77

*根据条例18-4329和有效的11月5,2018:
每个居住单位或经批准的商业机构使用小巷接收住宅收集或其他垃圾,垃圾,垃圾和其他垃圾的收集,除了由铺砌,铺设沥青,混凝土或类似建造的小巷提供的联排别墅住宅外,以与基本服务费相同的方式收取每月额外的五美元($ 5.00)。

有关您的垃圾账单的问题应该直接针对 街道及环境署,(256)341-4740。

问:商业账户信息

A: 在此 固体废物处 为符合地点和数量要求的小型企业提供服务。 最多允许两个垃圾车。 产生大量固体废物的企业需要使用私人废物搬运工来满足他们的需求。 根据5.00-18条例,可能会收取$ 4329小巷费用。

电话联系 街道与环境服务 有关更多信息,请访问(256)341-4740。

商业垃圾价格
有效的10 / 1 / 18
商业 - (2垃圾车最大) $38.03

问:取消垃圾费

A:

  • 对于空置房屋,业主在60天签署一份宣誓证明房屋已空置并且没有产生垃圾或垃圾。 致电街道和环境服务部(256- 341-4740)获取宣誓声明或点击此处查看 空缺宣誓声明。 请填写并填写完整的表格至1802 Central Parkway SW,Decatur,AL 35601的街道和环境服务部门。 DU收到街道和环境服务部门的空缺验证后,将收取费用,并将提取购物车。 在验证过程之前或期间,不会对空缺期间退款。
  • 对于社会保障豁免,居民必须向3821 Highway 31 South(256-340-2113)的摩根县卫生局申请。 证明是必需的 雅康 只有收入 一个家庭收到的是社会保障。 “ 申请表 可在卫生署获得。 必须填写,在公证前签字,并连同收入证明和迪凯特公用事业帐号一起提交给卫生部门。 申请仅适用于日历年,必须在每年12月续订才能继续。

问:我如何处理死亡动物?

A: 有关死去的动物的电话需要被引导到 街道与环境服务 办公室。 应将动物放入塑料袋中并放在路缘上以便拾取。 城市工人不得进入私人财产。

问:纽约市有叶子收藏吗?

A: 纽约市提供 路边的叶子集合,通常在十月下旬或十一月初开始。 叶片机器在周一至周五以连续顺时针方向运行。 有关接送日的电话可以重新定向到 街道与环境服务 办公室。

机会之城

Solid Waste FAQs

Q: How many and what kind of carts should I have at my residence?

A: When our automated system was put in place years ago, residents were initially issued one gray cart for household garbage and if needed, one green cart for yard waste to be collected separately. Since Decatur no longer separates green waste and household garbage at collection points, residents may mix all waste together in gray or green carts provided by the City, regardless of cart labels. You are encouraged to continue to use your carts for small yard debris rather than pile it up for loader truck service, as this will expedite collection. If more than 2 carts per household is needed, an extra cart will be provided at an extra monthly cost as long as the Solid Waste Department has sufficient stock. If you have more carts than you need, please call for the extra ones to be picked up. (NOTE: Roll-out carts from the Recycling Department are brown and are serviced only at the street.)

Other information about city-assigned solid waste carts:

  • Record the serial number of each cart for future reference. If one comes up missing, you may be able to find it without much effort.
  • Please follow the law and bag your household garbage. Bagged garbage inside cart means cleaner cart and surroundings, less chance of litter.
  • Call for extra cart if you have frequent excess garbage.
  • Keep cart lids closed with no protruding items.
  • Keep carts away from buildings, fences, mailboxes, utility poles, etc. when you put them out for service.
  • Never over-pack your carts.
  • Never sit, climb or stand on carts.
  • Never place paints, solvents, flammable or other types of liquids, ashes, dead animals, oils or medical waste in carts.
  • Never fill carts with building materials such as lumber, dirt, concrete or rocks.

Q: When is my garbage collected?

A: Have your carts out by 6:00 A.M. on your collection day with directional arrows pointing to street or alley. If you have street collection, set carts behind curb or on shoulder if no curb… not in gutter line or street. Roll them back to a safe place near your house by 7:00 P.M. You are responsible for the safekeeping and cleanliness of your assigned cart(s).

Garbage Pickup Days:

Q. What about large items (limbs, bushes, and brush too large for cart) and other bulky items, such as appliances and furniture?

A. A loader truck assigned to your neighborhood will pick up this type of refuse in the same location as your cart is serviced. (There are, however, a few areas where garbage collection is on the street but trash is picked up at the alley. Call the Street & Environmental Services office if you are not sure.)

Communication is the key to receiving professional and timely service. If you have questions, please call our office at 256-341-4740 so we may help you determine what can be placed out for collection.

  • Loader trucks do not service both street and alley for your location.
  • Periodic delays may happen due to storm debris and at other times when large quantities of debris are generated throughout the City.
  • Place large items neatly, away from fences, mailboxes, buildings, utility poles, etc. If you do not have alley pick up, items should be placed neatly behind the curb.  Do not block alleyways with your items.

The following items are acceptable for collection but the list is not inclusive:

  • Small cabinets, toilets, carpet and other items from homeowner repairs.
  • Limbs cut to less than 12 feet in length and less than 12 inches in diameter.
  • All types of appliances and furniture.
  • Fencing panels from small repairs, (think one to three panels). Note: Excessive fencing from a contractor will not be collected. Please call 256-341-4740 if you have questions or you are not sure.
  • Small piles of shingles from minor repairs. Again, no shingles from a contractor will be collected.
  • Leaves that are placed behind the curb. Do not put limbs and other debris on leaf piles at curb during “leaf season” when we are using vacuum machines for collection (roughly October – January). Bagging leaves is acceptable and will expedite the removal process.
  • Small (think wheel barrow full) piles of brick, rock and other items from the homeowner.

Q: What About Debris From Building Repairs, Remodeling and Demolition?

A: As you make plans for your building repairs or remodeling, please remember to plan for debris removal.  See the above section regarding homeowner generated debris.  We will not pick up contractor debris.

Decatur / Morgan County Regional Landfill disposal rates and hours of operation

Q: What About Debris From Contractors – Trees, Fencing, Shingles, Landscaping Etc?

A: All contractors are required by city ordinance to haul away their debris from work sites. There should be no negotiations between contractor and homeowner based on the assumption that the City will remove it. The Solid Waste Department will not haul it.

Reference: Solid Waste Ordinance Section 19-9, City of Decatur, Municipal Code

Q: How Much Do I Pay for Residential Garbage and Trash Pickup?

A: Garbage fees are billed on your Decatur Utility bill each month as follows:

RESIDENTIAL GARBAGE RATES
Effective 10/1/18
Residential$17.25 *
Residential Extra Cart$7.77

*Per Ordinance 18-4329 and effective November 5, 2018:
Each dwelling unit or approved business establishment receiving residential collection or other collection of garbage, trash, rubbish and other refuse by the city using an alley, except for a townhouse dwelling served by either a paved, asphalted, concreted or similar constructed alley, shall be charged the additional sum of five dollars ($5.00) per month to be paid in the same manner as the base service fee.

Questions about your garbage bill should be directed to the Street & Environmental Services Department, (256) 341-4740.

Q: Information On Commercial Accounts

A: The Solid Waste Department provides service to some small businesses which meet location and quantity requirements. A maximum of two garbage carts are allowed. Businesses which generate larger volumes of solid waste are required to contract their needs with a private waste hauler. A $5.00 alley fee may be applied, per ordinance 18-4329.

Call Street & Environmental Services for more information at (256) 341-4740.

COMMERCIAL GARBAGE RATES
Effective 10/1/18
Commercial - (2 garbage carts maximum) $38.03

Q: Removal of Garbage Fees

A:

  • For vacant houses, the owner signs an affidavit that house has been vacant and generated no garbage or trash for 60 days. Call Street & Environmental Services (256- 341-4740) for the sworn statement or click here for the Vacancy Sworn Statement. Please fill out and return the completed form to the Street & Environmental Services Department, 1802 Central Parkway SW, Decatur, AL 35601. Charges will be made inactive after DU receives verification of the vacancy from Street & Environmental Services and carts will be picked up. No refunds will be made for the period of vacancy prior to or during the verification process.
  • For the Social Security exemption, residents must apply to the Morgan County Health Department at 3821 Highway 31 South (256-340-2113). Proof is required that the only income that a household receives is Social Security.  The application form is available at the Health Department.  It must be filled out, signed before notary, and submitted along with proof of income and Decatur Utilities account number to the Health Department.  Applications are only good for the calendar year and must be renewed each December to be continued.

Q: How Do I Dispose of Dead Animals?

A: Calls concerning dead animals need to be directed to the Street & Environmental Services Office. Animals should be placed in a plastic bag and placed on the curb for pick up. City workers are not allowed to go onto private property.

Q: Does the City have a leaf collection?

A: The City offers on-street leaf collection, which usually begins in late October or early November. Leaf machines operate Monday through Friday on a continuous, clockwise route. Calls regarding pick-up days can be re-directed to the Street & Environmental Services Office.

THE CITY OF OPPORTUNITY