旧国家银行

历史资源与活动总监:
大卫布兰德

部门电话:
(256)341-4818

办公地址:
925 Bank Street NE Decatur,AL 35601

邮寄地址:
PO Box 488 Decatur,AL 35602

几年前建于180之上的迪凯特旧国家银行今天就是迪凯特丰富历史的提醒。 该建筑最初位于阿拉巴马州银行的田纳西河谷分支机构,在1833完工。 在国家银行失败之后,它看到了许多不同的用途,甚至在内战期间摧毁了迪凯特。 在一个经常动荡的历史中,旧银行已经在不断发展的迪凯特市上哨站,今天它被保存为一座充满历史和建筑意义的建筑。

在早期的1800中,Decatur的解决方案几乎不为人知。 国家银行在迪凯特的安置使该地区具有了新的意义,并有助于其向已建立的城镇过渡。 除了确定迪凯特在该州的重要性之外,该银行还预示着银行业在发展国家经济中发挥越来越重要作用的新时代。

在建筑方面,旧国家银行在阿拉巴马州的建筑风格的影响和发展中发挥了重要作用几十年。 通过将联邦风格的元素与希腊复兴风格相结合,旧州银行在内战期间引入了新的外观并影响了阿拉巴马州的建筑风格。

今天,旧国家银行被认为是迪凯特的历史性地标。 旧州银行董事会一直致力于将银行保留为博物馆,该银行目前对阿拉巴马州银行业的开端提供了独特的见解。 作为节目和特别活动的主持人,银行为游客提供了阿拉巴马历史的一瞥。 旧国家银行是其中的一部分 迪凯特公园和娱乐部门 .

作为迪凯特拍摄最多的地方之一,旧州银行是捕捉回忆的完美背景。 在建筑物外部或内部拍摄照片是免费的。

特别活动政策

旧州银行只有一名员工(其董事),其正常工作时间为周一至周五,旧州银行从9向公众开放:30上午至中午,1:30至4:30 pm。 所有其他非工作时间的开放时间为我们的主任的无人值守的志愿者时间。 旧州银行是一个非常受欢迎且常用的摄影场所,尤其适用于高中毕业舞会,正式场合和类似活动。 每年都有数千个摄影会议在旧州银行举行。 与许多类似的场地不同,我们不对这些摄影机会负责,并尽可能地为这些特殊的摄影场合提供非工作时间的开放。 但是,我们这样做是为了一个简单的礼貌,在事件发生之前至少要求30 DAYS预先通知,以便我们的主任能够在他自己的家庭时间内适当安排这些额外的开放时间。 每个团体的一名指定人员(如学校官员或指定的家长发言人)应通过256-341-4818与我们联系,以提出30日提前申请。 我们的建议是,一旦确定活动的确定日期,就要求额外的开放时间。 如果没有答案,请留言,我们会及时回复您的电话。 避免失望! 旧国家银行通常只有在至少提前30天通知的情况下才能在下班后开放。 如果没有人联系我们,我们不知道您和您的团队即将到来!

下载

机会之城

Old State Bank

Director of Historic Resources & Events:
David Breland

Department Phone:
(256) 341-4818

Office Address:
925 Bank Street NE Decatur, AL 35601

Mailing Address:
P.O. Box 488 Decatur, AL 35602

Built over 180 years ago, the Old State Bank in Decatur stands today as a reminder of Decatur’s rich history. Completed in 1833, the building originally housed the Tennessee Valley branch of the Bank of the State of Alabama. After the failure of the state bank, it saw many varied uses and even survived the destruction of Decatur during the Civil War. Throughout an often turbulent history, the Old Bank has stood sentinel over the growing city of Decatur and today it is preserved as a building filled with both historical and architectural significance.

In the early 1800’s the settlement of Decatur was virtually unknown. The placement of the state bank in Decatur gave the area a new significance and aided in its transition to established town. In addition to establishing Decatur’s importance in the state, the bank also heralded a new era in which banking played an increasingly important role in developing state economy.

Architecturally, the Old State Bank played a significant role in the influence and development of architectural style in Alabama for several decades. By combining elements of the Federal style with the Greek Revival style, the Old State Bank introduced a new look and influenced building style in Alabama until the Civil War.

Today the Old State Bank is considered as a historic landmark in Decatur. The Old State Bank Board of Directors has worked to preserve the bank as a museum and the bank currently provides a unique insight into the beginning of banking in Alabama. By serving as host to programming and special events, the bank offers its visitors a glimpse into Alabama history. The Old State Bank is a part of the Decatur Parks & Recreation Department .

As one of the most photographed places in Decatur, the Old State Bank is a perfect backdrop for capturing memories.  There is no charge for taking photographs either outside of or inside the building.

Special Events Policy

The Old State Bank has only one employee (its director), whose regular working hours are Monday through Friday with the Old State Bank being open to the public  from 9:30 am until noon and 1:30 until 4:30 pm.  All other after-hours openings are UNCOMPENSATED VOLUNTEER TIME for our Director. The Old State Bank is a highly desired and frequently used venue for photography, especially for high school proms, formals and similar events.   Thousands of photography sessions occur at the Old State Bank each year.  Unlike many similar venues, we have no charge for these photography opportunities  and endeavor to accommodate after-hours openings for these special photography occasions to the extent possible.   We do, however, as a simple courtesy, require at least 30 DAYS PRIOR NOTICE BEFORE EVENTS so that our Director can properly schedule these additional openings around his own family time.    One designee from each group (such as a school official or designated parent spokesman) should contact us at 256-341-4818 to make the 30 day advance request.  Our recommendation is to request additional opening time as soon as a firm date for the event has been established.  If no answer, please leave a message and we will return your call promptly.  Avoid disappointment!    The Old State Bank will generally be open after-hours ONLY if an appointment has been made with at least 30 days prior notice.  If no one contacts us,  we have no idea that you and your group are coming!

Downloads

THE CITY OF OPPORTUNITY