库克自然科学博物馆

博物馆电话:
(256)351-4505

博物馆地址:
133 4th大道NE
Decatur,AL 35601

网站:
cookmuseum.org

在2018的新位置开业!

它可能是你见过的最令人印象深刻的自然科学系列! 三十年前,阿拉巴马州迪凯特的库克自然科学博物馆开始于一个人对自然科学的兴趣,以及他希望为该国任何地方的害虫防治行业开发最好的昆虫学和相关科学课程之一。

这个梦想已经发展成为2,000高度评价的展品,包括野生动物和鸟类,矿物和岩石,异国情调的昆虫,海贝壳,蛇和珊瑚。 所有这些都将被安置在一个现代化的设施中,即将开放供观赏。

该博物馆起源于库克森林害虫控制委员会主席兼董事长库克先生的私人收藏,该公司是害虫控制行业的东南部领导者。 该系列首先用于补充参加库克技术培训学校的技术人员课程。 在1980,建造了一座永久性博物馆,以容纳不断增长的藏品。 在其原始位置,每年都有超过30,000的访客(包括大量学龄儿童)参观了该网站。 预计新工厂的数量会更多。

库克自然科学博物馆是美国为数不多的私人博物馆之一,由联邦政府授权将鹰展藏在其藏品中。 事实上,库克博物馆是美国少数几个展示白头鹰和金鹰的博物馆之一。 库克博物馆利用最先进的展品,包括互动展品,谈话展品,现场展品和动人的展品,通过在自然栖息地展示动物,将来自世界各地的自然生物带入生活。

在博物馆,田纳西州的Valley Lake Exhibit展示了来自美国田纳西河谷地区的50种昆虫,动物和水生物。 该博物馆被称为南方最好的博物馆之一,将为旅行团和游客提供住宿,以观看自然科学视频。

机会之城

Cook Museum of Natural Science

Museum Phone:
(256) 351-4505

Museum Address:
133 4th Avenue NE
Decatur, AL 35601

Website:
cookmuseum.org

Opening in its new location in 2018!

It may be the most impressive natural science collection you’ve ever seen! Cook Museum of Natural Science, in Decatur, Alabama, began some three decades ago from one man’s interest in natural science and his desire to develop one of the best Entomology and Related Science Courses for the pest control industry anywhere in the country.

This dream has grown into an extensive collection of more than 2,000 highly rated exhibits ranging from mounted wildlife and birds, minerals and rocks, to exotic insects, sea shells, snakes and coral. All will be housed in a modern facility soon to be open for viewing.

The museum originated from the private collection of Mr. Cook, president and chairman of the board of Cook’s Pest Control, a southeastern leader in the pest control industry. The collection was first used to supplement the curriculum of technicians attending Cook’s Technical Training School. In 1980 a permanent museum was built to house the ever-growing collection. In its original location, more than 30,000 visitors, including vast numbers of school-aged children, toured the site each year. Even larger numbers are anticipated at the new facility.

Cook Museum of Natural Science is one of the few private museums in the United States authorized by the federal government to include eagle exhibits in their collection. Rarer still is the fact that the Cook Museum is one of the few museums in the U.S. to display both a bald eagle and a golden eagle. Utilizing state-of-the art displays, including interactive exhibits, talking exhibits, live exhibits and touching exhibits, the Cook Museum brings nature from around the world to life by showing the animals in their natural habitat.

At the museum, the Tennessee Valley Lake Exhibit alone features more than 50 species of insects, animals and water life from the Tennessee Valley region of the United States. The Museum is billed as one of the finest of its type in the South and will offer accommodations for tour groups and visitors for the viewing of natural science videos.

THE CITY OF OPPORTUNITY