Holiday Garbage Pickup

When a holiday falls on your regularly scheduled garbage pickup day, it is generally rescheduled for the following day, with the exception of Friday’s which will be rescheduled for the following Monday. Below is a list of upcoming holidays. If you have questions regarding your service, please contact Street and Environmental Services at (256) 341-4740.

2018 CITY HOLIDAYS - OFFICES CLOSED
Monday, January 1 - New Year's DayNo changes in garbage/trash service
Monday, January 15 - Martin Luther King DayNo changes in garbage/trash service
Monday, May 28 - Memorial DayNo changes in garbage/trash service
Wednesday, July 4 - Independence DayWednesday's and Thursday's routes will be one day late. Friday's routes will run on Monday, July 9.
Monday, September 3 - Labor DayNo changes in garbage/trash service
Monday, November 12 - City Holiday for Veteran's DayNo changes in garbage/trash service
Thursday - Friday, November 22-23 - ThanksgivingThursday's and Friday's routes will run the Monday following Thanksgiving. Limited loader truck service.
Tuesday, December 25 - ChristmasTuesday's through Thursday's routes will run one day late. Friday's routes will run on Monday, December 31.

Please note that the holiday schedules for Sanitation and Recycling are different.

THE CITY OF OPPORTUNITY